Let It Go

Don’t let them in, don’t let them see
Be the good girl you always have to be
Conceal, don’t feel, don’t let them know

As in my previous post, I described the chaos I feel in my life. It probably isn’t much different than the perpetual pull in multiple different directions that most women feel. However, I did disclose my perpetual character flaw of being a perfectionist and with this goes being a control freak. So on top of having to be perfect, I also I have the need for things to go as I have them planned and be done the way that I would like them done. This as I said adds to the chaos (or makes me feel like there is chaos where actually there probably isn’t).

Currently I am struggling with a large work project that has the propensity to be my life work and things aren’t going as fast and being “fixed” as fast as I would like them to be. I feel under the microscope and want everything to be perfect right out of the gate. Guess what…..its not. I’m learning to love the failures (or not 100% rights) and move on. I am also struggling with a lot of unknowns in the next several months that I am trying to “plan” for as much as possible. However, as it is just a possibility it makes it really hard to plan for everything that could possibly happen and I am having to just let it go.

Through all of this I am again brought to my knees at the foot of my Lord and Savior to be reminded…again…that none of this is mine to control. He doesn’t expect me to be perfect, He knows I don’t have all the answers, and He wants me to lean on Him, “let go, and let God,” and remember that in Him I am free.

And the fears that once controlled me
Can’t get to me at all

It’s time to see what I can do
To test the limits and break through
No right, no wrong, no rules for me
I’m free……..

Let it go, let it go
And I’ll rise like the break of dawn
Let it go, let it go
That perfect girl is gone

Here I stand
In the light of day
Let the storm rage on,

“We may not be perfect, but we can be excellent”–M.D.

One thought on “Let It Go

  1. Awesome post! There is grace and provision for exactly where you are right now. I am also a perfectionist, (and control freak) so God tends to grow my faith through uncertainties and imperfections because that where I most evidently see my insufficiency and need for Christ and I need faith to trust in his plan for my life and His ability to carry it out.

Leave a Reply

