New Discoveries

I don’t typically travel much for my job but in the last 6 weeks I have made 3 business trips, during these trips I have discovered the following things:

1. I think I might have actually gotten over my “fear” of flying
I’m not afraid of flying in the traditional sense but I used to hate landings and takeoffs…..and going through security, as I evidently look like a threat or something and used to ALWAYS get the full pat down, go through the luggage, etc. This has not happened in a while.

2. I am pretty good at public speaking.
I have had to give 3 presentations in the last 2 weeks and I haven’t done a bad job. In one of them I actually tripped, almost fell, was able to recover AND laugh/make a joke about it and move on like nothing happened. In all 3 I have been able to engaged the audience and deliver my content. As much as I struggle with compliments and admitting I am good at someting, this is something I am pretty good at.

3. I am my own worst enemy.
I get inside my head and say “I can’t” or “x could do that better/x is better” or “I am not as good as them”. I am my own defeatest. This is something I need to work on.

4. I am not as outgoing as everyone thinks.
The first and last of my trips I have traveled alone. Both times I have felt very uncomfortable and awkward in social situations. Luckily during my first trip I hit it off with someone quickly and we hung out together. The last trip….not so much. It has been a struggle to stay our of my own head (see #3) and go an introduce myself to people.

5. Things outside of my box/the norm for me make me or things that are uncertain make me very uncomfortable.
Little things like dining at a restaurant alone, thinking about taking a cab, which is something I rarely do, to go somewhere, etc. all have made me really uncomfortable. Also, if I don’t seem to know exactly how things will turn out I get very uncomfortable as well.

Needless to say, I have found some things to work on, but self-reflection is rarely a bad thing and the possibilities for improvement are endless.

Leave a Reply

