Happy 2014!!!

Happy New Year everyone!! I am a day late and a dollar short but still wanted to take a moment to reflect on 2013 and jot down some goals for 2014.

Sunday at church our pastor asked us to think of 3 words to describe 2013. Mine were joyful, exhausting, and chaotic. He then asked us to think of 3 words that we hope 2014 will be. Mine were peaceful, joyful, and fulfilling. 2013 was a very busy year with lots of joyful moments but also lots of adjusting to a new baby in the house and figuring out the new chaos. Because of that I am hoping 2014 will be a little calmer and less chaotic….or at least organized chaos.

So in hopes of having a more peaceful, joyful, and fulfilling year I have figured out I need to do the following:

1. Make it a priority to be in the Word everyday. Being in God’s Word daily really helps center my focus and priorities on the right thing. This year I hope to read the entire Bible. Our church is doing the One Year Bible and I am hoping that I am actually successful in completing it this time (I have failed 2 previous times….once with the Chronological bible and once with the One Year Bible). I don’t want to complete this so I can say “Wow, look what I did,” but to have a better understand of my Lord and Savior along with keeping me in the Word on a daily basis.

2. Make time for me. After a year of having an infant and a toddler while breastfeeding said infant and working full time I need some time for me. This includes doing things that I find fulfilling like cooking and going for a run. I would love to loose the last bit of baby flab I still have hanging on but the benefit of loosing it would be that I feel better and have carved out some “me time” to go run or exercise which makes me fill oh so much better mentally and physically.

3. Be present. With the constant connectedness of smartphones and Facebook and blogs and emails it is easy for us to do a million things at once with nothing really getting our full attention. Since I am a FABULOUS multi-tasker I know what I am talking about here. I really want to strive to be present this year. That means unplugging from work and my phone when I leave for the day to give my family my undivided attention. It means trying not to check emails, text, Facebook, etc. when I get bored but there are potentially important things going on around me. It also means not turning on the TV just for background noise and then getting sucked into whatever is on.

As you can see these aren’t really hard and fast resolutions but more like lifestyle changes to improve my overall well being and honestly my family’s as well. What is that saying?

If momma ain’t happy, nobody’s happy.

I want momma to be happy so everyone can be happy and have a more fulfilling, peaceful, and joyful 2014. We shall see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

