12 Days of Christmas Tradition: Day 1 – Christmas Cards

I absolutely love the Christmas season and all that comes with it. The colder weather, the decorations, the gift giving, the music, the movies, the food, I could go on and on.

In my life there have been several traditions that are really meaningful to me during the Christmas season. I am going to try to carry on those traditions with my boys while adding a couple of traditions of our own. So over the next 12 days or so I will be posting about Christmas traditions that I hold dear. Hopefully it will give you some ideas of some to start with your own family.

The first tradition I love is Christmas cards. I don’t know about you but typically what I get in the mail is junk and bills. So at Christmas time when I get a Christmas card I get really excited. It is fun for me to see pictures of friends and family and how they have changed over the years. I also feel special because I was important enough to someone to make their Christmas card list. With “snail mail” being on the decline and every utilizing email to actually get a real card in the mail is special.

My Christmas list seems to grow every year. It includes local friends from church, one of my best friends who I met at work, family, the lady that kept me when I was little before I went to school, my sister-in-law’s family, the lady that use to clean my house, my OB who I consider a friend, a student I have been precepting who I also consider a friend, along with friends from high school. It is quite a diverse list with cards going all across the US.

20131210-142857.jpg

When I get cards in the mail they go up on our Christmas card display.

20131210-142933.jpg
Very simply it is ribbon attached to our pantry door and it makes it look like a present. Then we attach the cards with mini clothpins. I also save all of our Christmas cards each year. They go into a folder, and every Christmas I get them out and look through them. It is nice to reflect on all we have to be grateful for and the many people who have made an impact on our lives in some way or another.

So I encourage you to think of a special person or two and send them a Christmas card; it just might make their day.

Leave a Reply

