Baked Fajitas

I love Mexican food!!! I mean don’t get me wrong, I pretty much love all food and all cuisines but my most often go to is Mexican. Typically when I got out for Mexican my hubby and I share fajitas. Its a match made in heaven since he only likes the meat and my favorite part is the veggies. I also thoroughly enjoy making fajitas at home, however it can get quite time consuming and leave me a mess to clean up. But I have found the solution!!! Oven baked fajitas!! They are simple, quick, and a 1 dish meal. What more could a busy working mom ask for?!?!

20131122-124059.jpg

20131122-124113.jpg
First you slice up one small/medium onion and 2 bell peppers. Pick your favorite type as it doesn’t matter. Today I used green since they looked the best and were the cheapest at the store.

Next dump in a can of drained ro’tel (i.e. diced tomatoes with green chilies). Choose whichever variety suits your spice level.

Then add 1-2 lbs of sliced chicken breast. I am sure you could use beef, shrimp, or even all veggies so again, customize to what you want.

20131122-124211.jpg
Last you make your spice mixture. I use about 2 tablespoons of oil, some Hot Mexican Chili powder, minced garlic, paprika, cumin, salt, and regular chili powder. You could add red cayenne pepper as well if you wanted it spicier. Then dump your spice mix on your veggie/meat combo and mix it all up.

20131122-124245.jpg
Pop it in a 400 degree oven for 20-25 mins and you have a great dish of pipping hot fajitas with lots of leftovers!!!
>

20131122-124334.jpg

20131122-124324.jpg
We typically serve our fajitas with some combination of Mexican rice, black beans, corn, salsa, white cheese dip, guacamole, and warm tortillas. Personally I skip the tortillas and make a salad out of it.

Recipe
Ingredients
1-2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into strips
1 (14 ounce) can diced tomatoes with green chilies
1 medium onion, sliced
1 large bell pepper, seeded and sliced
2 Tablespoon vegetable oil
2 teaspoons chili powder (1 regular and 1 Hot Mexican Style)
2 teaspoons cumin
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/2 -1 teaspoon dried cilantro
1/4 teaspoon salt
splash/squeeze of lime juice
12 flour tortillas, warmed to serve

Directions
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Grease a 13×9 baking dish. Mix together chicken, tomatoes, chilies, peppers, and onions in the dish. In a small bowl combine the oil and spices. Drizzle the spice mixture over the chicken and toss to coat. Bake uncovered for 20-25 minutes or until chicken is cooked through and the vegetables are tender. Serve with warmed tortillas and enjoy!

Adapted from

One thought on “Baked Fajitas

  1. Pingback: Chicken Fajitas | Cooking Is My Sport

Leave a Reply

