Jerk Chicken

Guess what!?!? It’s another crock pot recipe. Yes, I do cook other things that do not go in the crock pot, but I seem to be on a kick right now. This recipe actually came from The Crockin’ Girls cookbook. It is the first thing I tried from the cookbook, but it was pretty good and lots of the recipes look really good…..and easy.

First I put 4 frozen chicken breasts in the crockpot.

20131031-091940.jpg

Then I added 1 1/2 cups of water and a whole bottle of Jerk marinade. I used Kroger brand.

20131031-092016.jpg

Next I chopped a small yellow onion into chunks and added it to the crock pot.

20131031-092049.jpg

Then I turned it on low to let it cook for 8 hours. When I got home from work I added 2 small cans of pineapple chunks, and let it stay on “warm” for another 30 mins. Then I took out the chicken, shredded it up, and scooped the pineapple and onions out of the crock pot.

20131031-092124.jpg

The recipe suggests serving the the Jerk chicken on tortillas or rice. We opted for tortillas and I added a little bit of lettuce and made a wrap. You could also easily serve on top of a salad or as a Caribbean type taco meat. Overall it was a very good, easy, and versatile meal.

20131031-092203.jpg

Recipe
4 frozen chicken breasts
1 1/2 cups water
1 bottle Caribbean Jerk Marinade
1 small onion, sliced/cut into chunks
1 (8oz) can pineapple chunks, drained

Recipe from Crockin Girls

Leave a Reply

