BBQ Pork

One of my favorite things about cooler weather is that I get to use my crock pot more. Yes, I realize I could use it all year around but for some reason I equate crock pot food with cold weather thus as the temps go down my crock pot usage goes up.

The other night I made BBQ pork sandwiches for supper. This would normally not be a weeknight meal as the time traditionally required is prohibitive for me being a busy working mom, but once again the crock pot makes the impossible possible.

For this recipe I got a pork butt and put it in the crock pot with homemade peach BBQ sauce that I made ahead of time. In all honestly this was a freezer meal that I made ahead of time but that is a different post for a different day.

After cooking the pork on low for 8+ hours I took it out, shredded it up, and added a jar of McClard’s BBQ sause. McClard’s is probably one of my favorites since it is what I grew up on….even before Bill Clinton helped to make it famous. McClard’s is local for me so I can find it in the grocery store but you can use whatever BBQ suits your fancy.
20131031-091527.jpg

20131031-091540.jpg

Then I piled some of the meat onto a bun, added some coleslaw, and had a yummy BBQ pork sandwich for dinner with lots of leftovers for the week. Even better……I didn’t have a huge mess in my kitchen to clean up and my picky son gobbled up an entire sandwich. It was a win-win night for dinner at our house. 🙂 Hope you find it to be a winner at your house too.
20131031-091632.jpg

Recipe

Peachy BBQ Sauce

Ingredients:
2 cups tomato sauce, preferably organic
1 cup water
0.5 cup apple cider vinegar
0.75 cup peach puree
0.25 cups honey (optional, leave out for whole30)
0.5 Tablespoon ground black pepper
0.5 Tablespoon onion powder
0.5 Tablespoon ground mustard
0.5 Tablespoon garlic, diced
1 Tablespoon dried basil
1 Tablespoon lemon juice
1 Tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
crushed red pepper flakes, to taste (optional, I put about 1/4 teaspoon in mine)

Directions:
In a medium saucepan, combine all the ingredients. Bring mixture to a boil, reduce heat to simmer. Cook uncovered for an hour and 15 minutes. Place in a container and store until ready to use. Use in recipes.

Just Peachy Pulled Pork

Ingredients:
3 pounds Boston butt (shoulder) roast
salt and pepper to taste
0.5 medium onion, diced
2 cups Homemade Peach BBQ Sauce
Sandwich Buns (optional)

Directions:
Place all contents in a slow cooker. Cook on low 7-8 hours or until fork tender. Remove meat to a cutting board and use two forks to shred meat. Return to the crock pot and toss in sauce to coat.

Recipes from Once a Month Meals

4 thoughts on “BBQ Pork

  1. Pingback: Quick and Yummy | Night Owl Kitchen

  2. Pingback: 30 Crock Pot Freezer Meals | fighting frazzled

Leave a Reply

